Spateston 2024

Spateston Bowling Club
2nd June 2024

Once again the Renshaw Bowling Association finals were held in dry weather. President Tom Morrison who had served on the committee for some years finally had his day, with Spateston Bowling Club doing him proud.
For the first time in many years after a request at the AGM the green be set in 6 rinks instead of 7. Therefore the Secretary’s Singles were held earlier in the day. The contest was held between John Martin of Lilybank and Martin Duncan from Renfrew the former winning by 21 shots to 13.
The rinks competition was fought between the team from Lilybank of Archie Holmes, Mark Sibbald, Alistair Danks and Willie Kelly and a team from Kilbarchan of Jim Lochrie, Eric Borland, Jim McFeeley and Donnie McLeod the latter winning by and 13-10.
The Senior Triples was contested by Sandy McArthur, Robert Young and Allan McDougall from Neilston scoring a victory over the trio from Spateston of Jim Gilmour, Willie Jenkins and Alastair Pratt by a score of 14-8. This was the third win in succession for a Neilston team.
Nitshill & Hurlet triple of Charlie Quinn, Jim Cooper and John McKinnon were victors over Graham Watson, Gordon McBride and Pat Currie from Renfrew by a score of 18-11.
In the Pairs the pair from Elderslie of Derek Mains and Graeme Pringle were victorious over David Beggs and Sandy McGilvray from Johnstone BC 19-13.
In the Junior Singles Paul Danks from Lilybank defeated his best friend Cailean Nicol from Johnstone with a score of 21-9
And finally to the Singles competition with Michael McGinley from Lilybank overcoming Alex McDaid from Neilston with a score of 21-19.