Crookston 2018

Renshaw Finals
Crookston Bowling Club
Sunday 3rd June, 2018
On the first Sunday in June 2018 the Renshaw Finals were held at Crookston Bowling Club on a warm sunny day.

The pairs competition was won by the Renfrew pair of John Brine and Robert Haveron defeating the Arthurlie pair of Bill Simpson and Willie McLatchie by 14 shots to 11. The was the third time that John Brine has won the Renshaw pairs.
The Junior Singles was won by Ryan Langdon of Crookston overcoming Bishopton’s Calum Monro by 21 shots to 3.
After winning the Senior Triples in 2017 J. G. Fleming put out a different triple of David Turner, Derek Sommerville and Tom Wyper who defeated the Johnstone Bowling Club three of Jim Morris, George Boyak and Jim Grady by a score of 19-9, to give J. G. Fleming back to back wins in the competition, with different teams.
The championship Singles was contested by Ian Whyte of Inchinnan and Tony Fox of Elderslie Wallace with the Inchinnan player coming out on top in a well fought battle.
The Secretary’s singles of Bishopton’s Bill McDermid and Nitshill & Hurlet’s Charlie Quinn was a nip and tuck match with Charlie Quinn winning 21-18 in a hard fought match.
Triple Championship was another well contested match with the triples from Neilston consisting of Sandy McArthur, David Walker and Willie Finnigan losing out to the triple from Inchinnan of Joe Tarbert, Harry Dempsey and Kenny Brown winning by a score of 14-11.
The Kilbarchan Bowling Club rink of Alan Wardle, Alex Ritchie, Ian Fleming and Tom Aitken were the victors over the rink from Bishopton Bowling Club consisting of Martin Murphy, John McMillan, Alan McKechnie, Alex Campbell by a score of 13-8.
The thanks of the Renshaw Bowling Association go to the umpires, Gerry Mulholland, Gerry Harte and Bob Morrow who worked hard over the day. Thanks also to Crookston Bowling Club for hosting the finals and to all the spectators who made the finals day what it was. Unfortunately the presentation had t9o be made inside due to a sudden downpour.