Robertson Park 2022

Renshaw Finals
Robertson Park Bowling Club
Sunday, 5nd June, 2022

The weather was very kind as the sun shone all day. The turnout of spectators was excellent especially with one club contesting three finals.

The junior singles was contested by two very good up and coming juniors in the form of James Murphy from Kilbarchan and Jack Donnelly from Crookston, with James Murphy coming out on top with a score of 21-16.
The Pairs competition was fought between the duo from Midton of Andy Currie and John Burns beating Liam Brown and Iain McDade of Shanks with the score being  19-13 in favour of Midton.
The Secretary’s Singles was won by David Perrit of Elderslie Wallace, this being two wins in succession defeating Charles Quinn of Nitshill & Hurlet by the score of 21-20.
The Triples team of Jim Grady, Alistair Danks and Archie Holmes from Lilybank defeated Bob Tourish, Jim Duffy and Mark Smith from Blacklandmill by a score of  18-8.
The rinks from Kilbarchan of Gordon Finnigan, Chic McIvor, Leonard Grant and Peter Murphy triumphed over the four from Shanks, Kenny Sanderson, Jim McGuire, Yan Bergnan, and Willie Speirs by the slimmest of margins, the score being 15-14.
In the Senior Triples Neilston, led by Ian Sillars, then Sandy McArthur and skip Allan McDougall defeated the Senior team from J. G. Fleming of Norman Robertson, Robert Holmes, Donald Stuart by 12 shots to 3. The game was played over 13 ends with 12 of the ends scoring one shot.
And finally the singles competition was contested by two very good players with Kilbarchan’s Iain Carrol overcoming defending champion Linwood’s Colin Sadler by coming back from 16-10 down to win 21-16.
The Renshaw Bowling Association once again thank the following umpires for their efforts over the day: Roger Black, Denis Connell, Mary McGroarty and John McGroarty.